Author Topic: [Fixed][Sug][Website/Topics] More visibility of links to source code  (Read 3101 times)

Offline namida

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • NeoLemmix Website
Nepster has mentioned in another topic here that he does still intend for NeoLemmix to be open-source, and provided a link to the source code. Although not outright stated to be open source as such, the About dialog in the Editor implies (not outright states) that it is also intended to be open-source.

I'd like to suggest adding links to the source code:
- To this topic, or a seperate pinned topic specifically for the source links
- To either a dedicated source code page, or the relevant download pages, on the NeoLemmix website

I can make these changes if desired, just send me the links.

On a side note, I notice the Editor's about box mentions the editor and its source are licenced under CC-BY-NC. While I'm not an expert on this, I recall hearing CC licences aren't really suited to programs / source code and are more for artistic or literary works; something like MIT or GPL* may be better.

* Though do note there are several members of this community that seem to really, really dislike GPL, and I somewhat understand their point of view there
« Last Edit: July 13, 2018, 03:38:36 PM by Nepster »
My Lemmings projects
2D Lemmings: NeoLemmix (engine) | Lemmings Plus Series (level packs) | Doomsday Lemmings (level pack)
3D Lemmings: Loap (engine) | L3DEdit (level / graphics editor) | L3DUtils (replay / etc utility) | Lemmings Plus 3D (level pack)

Offline Nepster

• View Profile
Re: [Fixed][Sug][Website/Topics] More visibility of links to source code
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2018, 03:54:49 PM »
Great idea. I modified the "Welcome to NeoLemmix" post you linked.

Regarding the choice of license:
1) I don't like GPL (or LGPL for that matter), because it places rather nasty requirements for anyone forking these projects and modifying the code.