Author Topic: ideas  (Read 16311 times)

Offline finlay

• View Profile
ideas
« on: February 22, 2011, 04:10:53 PM »
How does one come up with level ideas? I'm really no good at it! Any thoughts?

Offline ccexplore

• View Profile
Re: ideas
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 10:20:35 PM »
I'd say I'm not that good at it either.  I think there are two general approaches you can try:

1) If you are artistically inclined, you can start from the visual end of things, and just try to put together a level that looks good.  Then tweak the skillset (and terrain if needed) and see if you can come up with a decent puzzle as well.  Starting with all skills available in generous amounts, and then gradually see how the level plays out with less and less skills (particularly if you take away certain types of skills altogether) is a good way to proceed.

2) If you are more left-brained, you can try to come up with puzzle ideas based on various tricks and techniques you might have seen from official levels as well as other people's levels.  There are a number of (by no means exhaustive) general ideas you can look at:
  a) various means of crowd control, beyond the simplest of blocking to hold them off
  b) multitasking
  c) see if you can make the release rate a core part of the puzzle
  d) take advantage of transient effects of performing a skill.   That is, instead of simply looking at the effects of a completed bridge, or a through-and-through basher/miner/digger tunnel, think about how a lemming may take advantage of a still-in-progress bridge or tunnel.  As a simple example, a lemming can turn around once at the wall of a digger's tunnel just a little bit before the digger breaks through, and you would have diverted a lemming to go in the opposite direction than where everyone else would.  Some skills like bashers can even be interrupted mid-stroke to create interesting effects on the terrain (in the case of basher, you can create a sort of "step" that way).