Author Topic: pokemon challenges  (Read 3592 times)

Offline mobius

• relax.
    • View Profile
pokemon challenges
« on: October 21, 2016, 09:45:52 PM »
Would anyone be interested in watching me do a challenge run of pokemon red/blue? I'm thinking of recording/streaming this, but I am new to recording and what-not, could use advice.

Feel free to leave suggestions on what kind of challenges to impose on this. It's also been a very long time since I played this game so it'll probably end up being comical. Not certain I'm actually going to do this, just thinking about it. Recording is easier, maybe at some point I'll try streaming it.
everything by me: https://www.lemmingsforums.net/index.php?topic=5982.msg96035#msg96035

"Not knowing how near the truth is, we seek it far away."
-Hakuin Ekaku

"I have seen a heap of trouble in my life, and most of it has never come to pass" - Mark Twain

Offline Proxima

• View Profile
Re: pokemon challenges
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2016, 09:48:30 PM »
I've never played or watched a Pokemon game, so why not, having someone I know play it would be a good way to see what it's like.

Offline Dullstar

• View Profile
    • Leafwing Studios Website (EXTREMELY OUTDATED)
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2016, 01:39:21 AM »
The most popular Pokemon challenge is probably ye olde standard Nuzlocke (can only catch first Pokemon on route after obtaining Pokeballs, must release/permanently deposit anything that faints). The other one I can think of off the top of my head that would apply to Red/Blue is the monotype challenge - using Pokemon of only one type. I've tried this with Water before, but I've never finished it (not because of difficulty though - I just stopped playing the run at some point and didn't resume).

You could also mix and match (e.g. restrict yourself to one type of Pokemon and release things that faint).

I don't know about Nuzlocke's rules, but monotype allows the use of other types for HM purposes, but not for battle.