Version 4.0 Update
A small but very significant update. Styles are now handled differently so that they are smaller and easier to maintain.
If you're using an earlier version of RetroLemmini, it's strongly recommended that you update to Version 4.0.
Here's what's new!
Style Handling
• Objects no longer need to have a separate 'om_' image with the trigger rectangle. Instead, we use maskX, maskX, maskWidth and maskHeight in the style's .ini to set the trigger rectangles.
• If you're a style creator, you can use the Editor's trigger area rendering capability (go to View > Show/Hide Triggers) to make sure you've set the correct values.
• Objects are now named 'stylename_o_n' instead of 'stylenameo_n'. This is so that styles can have names ending in 'o' without potentially causing problems.
• All included styles have been updated to this system - levels and replays are unaffected.
Force Fields
• It's no longer possible to Rotate/Flip/Invert Force Field objects. This is to keep the graphics consistent with the physics.
Entrance Hatches
• Under the new style handling system (see above), lemming spawn points are now set by the maskX and maskY values for entrance hatch objects. The spawn point is shown both in the Editor and in the updated Debug mode.
• It's no longer possible to Rotate entrance hatches (they can still be Flipped/Inverted!). If any existing levels use rotated hatches, I'm happy to add a new rotated hatch object to the 'special' style.
Up/Down One-Way_Arrows
• Upwards and Downwards-facing One-Way_Arrows have been added to all OG styles courtesy of EricDerkovits. Some of the images need to be upscaled to hi-res, which will be done over the next few weeks. You can keep the styles up to date by going to 'Help > Update Styles'.
More Java Exception Eliminations!
• When a level doesn't load, we now show exactly which resource is missing that's causing it not to load.
• The lack of a second value in the 'sound' section of a triggered object's .ini entry is now tolerated by being defaulted to 1 (so, the sound will play on the first frame of the animation unless another frame is specified) - see this topic for details.
• Improved error messages for missing resources.
Debug Mode
• Object trigger areas are now shown when in Debug mode. Please note - this should not be routinely used when playing levels as levels cannot be legitimately counted as 'solved' in Debug mode; the feature is intended for use when creating and maintaining levels and/or styles. I may consider adding this as its own feature (a 'Physics View' similar to the one in NeoLemmix), but there would have to be a lot of vocal support for this from RetroLemmini users; I'd very much prefer to keep it as a Debug-only feature.
• The panel info layout is improved and now shows object type when mousing over an object.
UI/Bugfixes
• The browser now always opens at the 'levels' folder when adding an External level.
See also - RL Editor release topic for the latest version of the dedicated RetroLemmini Level Editor.
N.B. - You must update to Editor 2.1 for cross-compatibility with RetroLemmini 4.0 - a copy of the Editor is included when downloading the RetroLemmini update to ensure that you're good to go.
Get the latest version of RetroLemmini here.
A small but very significant update. Styles are now handled differently so that they are smaller and easier to maintain.
If you're using an earlier version of RetroLemmini, it's strongly recommended that you update to Version 4.0.
Here's what's new!
Style Handling• Objects no longer need to have a separate 'om_' image with the trigger rectangle. Instead, we use maskX, maskX, maskWidth and maskHeight in the style's .ini to set the trigger rectangles.
• If you're a style creator, you can use the Editor's trigger area rendering capability (go to View > Show/Hide Triggers) to make sure you've set the correct values.
• Objects are now named 'stylename_o_n' instead of 'stylenameo_n'. This is so that styles can have names ending in 'o' without potentially causing problems.
• All included styles have been updated to this system - levels and replays are unaffected.
Force Fields• It's no longer possible to Rotate/Flip/Invert Force Field objects. This is to keep the graphics consistent with the physics.
Entrance Hatches• Under the new style handling system (see above), lemming spawn points are now set by the maskX and maskY values for entrance hatch objects. The spawn point is shown both in the Editor and in the updated Debug mode.
• It's no longer possible to Rotate entrance hatches (they can still be Flipped/Inverted!). If any existing levels use rotated hatches, I'm happy to add a new rotated hatch object to the 'special' style.
Up/Down One-Way_Arrows• Upwards and Downwards-facing One-Way_Arrows have been added to all OG styles courtesy of EricDerkovits. Some of the images need to be upscaled to hi-res, which will be done over the next few weeks. You can keep the styles up to date by going to 'Help > Update Styles'.
More Java Exception Eliminations!• When a level doesn't load, we now show exactly which resource is missing that's causing it not to load.
• The lack of a second value in the 'sound' section of a triggered object's .ini entry is now tolerated by being defaulted to 1 (so, the sound will play on the first frame of the animation unless another frame is specified) - see this topic for details.
• Improved error messages for missing resources.
Debug Mode• Object trigger areas are now shown when in Debug mode. Please note - this should not be routinely used when playing levels as levels cannot be legitimately counted as 'solved' in Debug mode; the feature is intended for use when creating and maintaining levels and/or styles. I may consider adding this as its own feature (a 'Physics View' similar to the one in NeoLemmix), but there would have to be a lot of vocal support for this from RetroLemmini users; I'd very much prefer to keep it as a Debug-only feature.
• The panel info layout is improved and now shows object type when mousing over an object.
UI/Bugfixes• The browser now always opens at the 'levels' folder when adding an External level.
See also - RL Editor release topic for the latest version of the dedicated RetroLemmini Level Editor.
N.B. - You must update to Editor 2.1 for cross-compatibility with RetroLemmini 4.0 - a copy of the Editor is included when downloading the RetroLemmini update to ensure that you're good to go.
Get the latest version of RetroLemmini here.




