Author Topic: [SUG][EDITOR] Cross Compatible Editor  (Read 2348 times)

Offline GigaLem

• The Dog That Brought Lemmings to Avalice
    • View Profile
[SUG][EDITOR] Cross Compatible Editor
« on: August 31, 2023, 04:28:54 AM »
Even as some who still uses Neolemmix, given that new features are sunset for the sake of a final version. there were things I wanted for the editor of Neolemmix that never got made.

Piece search bar
Grid based Piece viewer
Force Lemming type

And ideas that by the time I've thought them, it was far too late to suggest them.

Pop out Stage viewer

However if any of this is possible in Superlemmix, The only thing I could suggest is a Cross Compatible Editor, one that you can choose to make levels for NeoLemmix or SuperLemmix depending on what folder its in.

Like "If editor is in the SuperLemmix folder, show SuperLemmix features" and "If editor is in NeoLemmix folder, Show NeoLemmix features"

While I'm no coder or anything, I don't know how viable of an option this is, or where else to put it.

Offline WillLem

• Unity isn't sameness, it's togetherness
    • View Profile
Re: [Sug][Editor] Cross Compatible Editor
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2023, 10:30:35 PM »
This could be done via a bool option in Settings, something like "Show SuperLemmix Features / Show NeoLemmix Features." The preference would be saved and loaded each time the Editor is opened, and would display a platform-relevant layout.

The only caveat is that it would still require 2 separate copies of the Editor; one for each platform, in its relevant folder, and with the relevant setting applied per copy. Otherwise, it would be necessary to switch between the two options on the fly (perhaps not the worst thing - a hotkey could be assigned to do this quickly).