Author Topic: What programming language would you reccomend?  (Read 22584 times)

Offline Dullstar

• View Profile
    • Leafwing Studios Website (EXTREMELY OUTDATED)
What programming language would you reccomend?
« on: June 09, 2009, 11:08:53 PM »
Hey.  I'm working on two game projects, an action/adventure game and an RPG.  While I could use game development software, it wouldn't be a good idea since I need it to work on at least Windows and Mac (because of crashing issues, I don't want to force my players to use Windows!  Also, while this may not happen for a while, my next computer will probably be a Mac).  I understand this would require edits, but what programming language is easiest to use that would be able to do both OSes with the least amount of change between the two versions of the coding?

Keep in mind that I need something that is very basic to learn, as I am new to the programming field.  If anyone knows any way to convert a .exe file for Windows into something that would work with Mac, that will do, too.

Offline ccexplore

• View Profile
Re: What programming language would you reccomend?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 11:25:25 PM »
Cross-platform support can be tricky in general, and definitely limits the programming languages you should consider.

I'm not an expert at this though.  I know Java is designed to be platform-independent (Lemmini uses it), so it's a good choice in terms of that requirement, but I'm not sure whether it counts as "very basic to learn".

There's also BlitzMax, which is based on BASIC, so it might be easier to learn.  It does cost you $80 US dollars though, and I think you actually need a Mac to compile your program for the Mac.

I'm definitely not an expert on this, so hopefully someone else can chime in with better ideas.  Who knows, maybe there is some game development software out there that supports both PC and Mac.