Author Topic: [SUG] New object - Magnetic Field  (Read 703 times)

Offline WillLem

• Unity isn't sameness, it's togetherness
    • View Profile
[SUG] New object - Magnetic Field
« on: July 10, 2023, 10:39:17 AM »
From this topic:

Quote from: Strato Incendus
Magno Booter: This is one we previously discussed for NeoLemmix. It would probably be hard to code, though. Especially if, for added utility, it would work like the gravity-reversal objects in Lemmings Revolutoin, where Magno Booters could build / platform / stack / mine / fence / dig / laser-blast upside down.
---
probably the one with the most versatility, especially if it’s a permanent skill that can start using other skills upside down (which it can’t in L2: The Tribes). Probably the hardest to implement, though.

Quote from: Floyd Brannon
Magno-booter! C`mon, we all want this. We just don't expect to get it. I'm no programmer, but I think this would be best if it's temporary. Clicking the booter would begin a timer and cause the lemming to fall up. When the lemming hits the ceiling it can walk upside-down until the time runs out, then he falls. This would be the crown jewel of Super Lemmix skills.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2023, 09:51:06 PM by WillLem »

Offline WillLem

• View Profile
Re: [SUG] New object - Magnetic Field
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2023, 10:42:02 AM »
A ceiling-Walker is a good idea, and I agree with Floyd that it should be temporary; however, I think it'd be best implemented as an object for exactly this reason.

A "Magnetic Field" could essentially invert the lem, and all actions, whilst the lem is vertically in contact with it (i.e. anywhere along the lem's Y-axis at any point in the level). Then, when they exit the field horizontally, they revert back to normal gravity - no need for an arbitrary time limit.