Author Topic: Airclick to cancel replay is not discoverable  (Read 2562 times)

Offline Forestidia86

• inactive
    • View Profile
Airclick to cancel replay is not discoverable
« on: December 15, 2017, 09:46:45 AM »
This is probably again one of my specific problems and has to do with how I encountered Lix as I started playing it.

The main question is:
Is there any (unobtrusive) way to make the in-level-replay in its working clearer?

In particular:
The fact that and how you can cancel the replay (when using e.g. restart).

As I started playing Lix that really messed with me since I thought I was caught with my former actions forever.
I messed something up or just wanted to restart the level, but then by using restart the replay just repeated all my actions, which I actually wanted to redo. I think I soon realized that it cancelled if you assign a skill but sometimes you want to move an assignment forwards and not backwards and that didn't seem to be possible to me.
Form that experience I have still the habit to just completely quit and enter a level if I want to restart it.

To be clear I don't want to speak against the replay functionality. It's just an experience report from someone who started playing Lix mainly with knowledge of L1 but not of newer engines and I'm not sure if there can be done anything against it.

Edit: It just gets to my mind that I even played Lemmings for Windows (1995), which had already the action replay functionality but I think I never used nor understood it at that time.

« Last Edit: January 05, 2018, 05:48:04 AM by Simon »

Offline Simon

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Lix
Re: About the in-level-replay workings
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 10:52:08 AM »
I assume this is not about file handling, replay-level-association, level-inside-replay-file, ... Instead, this is purely about the replay user interface during regular level solving, as a helper function. And with main focus on discoverability.