Author Topic: extracting Cheapo graphics  (Read 37537 times)

Offline mobius

• relax.
    • View Profile
extracting Cheapo graphics
« on: December 06, 2014, 09:59:32 PM »
Anyone that knows anything about Cheapo:

I'd like to extract the graphics files. What programs (other than Cheapo) can load them? Is there any way possible to get these and convert them to something like gif or anything normal? Thank you.
everything by me: https://www.lemmingsforums.net/index.php?topic=5982.msg96035#msg96035

"Not knowing how near the truth is, we seek it far away."
-Hakuin Ekaku

"I have seen a heap of trouble in my life, and most of it has never come to pass" - Mark Twain

Offline Crane

• View Profile
Re: extracting Cheapo graphics
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 12:01:21 AM »
The only clue from the little I studied Cheapo years ago is that the files are zlib compressed.  Unfortunately I don't have time myself to revisit it currently, but the first step would be to decompress the files programmatically (zlib is open-source) and see what you can find in the raw data.

I'd like to convert some of the Cheapo styles too... I quite liked the fantasy forest theme, and while not possible to port to Lemmini, the "Original Lemmings" was a clever one (which had the lemmings with grey hair and hunched with walking sticks, and the climber animation was a lemming sitting in a stairlift!)

Offline Prob Lem

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 10:16:29 AM »
:o

Do you guys have any pictures of these tilesets, for those of us not familiar with Cheapo, please? They sound pretty cool!

Offline mobius

• relax.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2014, 11:15:14 AM »
:o

Do you guys have any pictures of these tilesets, for those of us not familiar with Cheapo, please? They sound pretty cool!

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/72760678/Cheapo.zip