Author Topic: New title screen picture  (Read 12648 times)

Offline NaOH

• View Profile
New title screen picture
« on: March 17, 2014, 09:29:33 PM »
Hi, everybody. I'm new to the Lix community, although I've been playing Lemmings since I was about 3 years old. I sadly lost my floppy disk a few years ago, but I was thrilled when I discovered there was a fan-made (!) open source (!) multi-player (!!) version of the game out there -- Lix.

After having had a blast beating up other people's lemmings with green baseball bats for hours, I think it's safe to say this game is fairly professionally done. I haven't encountered any problems with the network, which is exceptional because it's really hard to write good network code for video-games. I've tried. (Kudos, Simon.)

I was wondering if, as a community, we might be able to improve the opening title screen? Now, I mean no offence to Mikex62, who I believe made the previous one. I actually quite like that design; I think it's adorable that it uses the new graphics theme and shows off all the skills. The thing is, it's kind of cluttered and it lacks some shading, and it's a little abstract. For first-time players, the screen is somewhat off-putting, actually, which is a shame because the game is so awesome. I'm actually guessing probably anybody who hasn't seen the radical Lix gameplay video is thrown off by the rather humble opening screen.

So, I was playing around in the gimp and I drew this picture (attached).

I'm not claiming to be a brilliant artist, so if anybody would like to contribute their own design or edit mine, that would be superb. I'm also drawing another one, which I'll post in a few minutes. What do you think?

If you have any suggestions, I might be able to draw it.

(Edit: having trouble with attachments. Please stay tuned!)

Offline RubiX

• Amiga <3 The memories
    • View Profile
Re: New title screen picture
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2014, 09:37:06 PM »